Where can you see yourself next?

Staff Spotlight

Staff Spotlight

Meet Emma, the newest edition to our Montgomery Advisory UK Practice…

What’s your background? How did you get to where you are today with Monty?

I undertook my Undergraduate Degree in Law and Economics at the University of Strathclyde and achieved First Class Honours. Following this, I still wanted to pursue further education and was extremely interested in Human Rights. This led me initially to join the Scottish Children’s Hearing System whilst I was applying to study a Masters in Human Rights Law, which I have since completed (and been awarded Distinction in).

Whilst I was completing my Masters dissertation, I received an email from a lecturer at the University regarding an administration role. This email led me to look further into Montgomery Advisory and subsequently apply and be accepted in the role of an Administrator and Research Assistant in the UK office. After working in this role for roughly 6 months I was given the opportunity to step up and take on the role of a Consultant, which I happily accepted. This has led me up to now where I am working full time with Montgomery Advisory.

What have you been focusing on since the turn of the year?

As my new position started in January this year, I have been throwing my all into learning the ropes and navigating my way through learning theUK legal market more in depth whilst also broadening my horizon in understanding the Australian market.

What is it like working at Montgomery?

Working at Montgomery is brilliant. The company has strong values in creating a community and a friendly working environment, making it a really warming place to work.

Have you had any interesting meetings so far? 

My colleague Glenn and I took a trip down to London where we met with various law firms and candidates. It was really interesting to speak with Hiring Teams and Partners to understand what they are looking for exactly. I found this helpful to understand what different clients are looking for in candidates.

Do you get to travel much?

I love to travel and see as much of the world as I possibly can. Unfortunately, due to the pandemic, my work abroad arrangement fell through in the summer of 2020 when 3 of my friends and I were due to work and live in New York for 4 months.

However, I was extremely grateful for Montgomery giving me 2 months off after completing my masters to go traveling Southeast Asia. This was an incredible opportunity and experience as I had never been to Asia before. I spent my time exploring Vietnam, Thailand, and Bali and absolutely fell in love with Vietnam and I cannot wait to go back there to see even more of the country in the future.

I also get to travel with Montgomery and may have the option to spend a bit of time in the Australian office down the line.

What kind of clients do you work with?

Our clients are positioned at the top end of the market, covering firms in the US White-Shoe and Mid Atlantic, Magic and Silver Circle, and Major International space, along with UK mid-market and boutique firms.

What type of lawyers can you help?

We are a full-service business, so can assist lawyers in any practice area found in a typical commercial firm. I really enjoy working with lawyers who are keen to partner up for the long-term – we are all about building partnerships!

Where would you like to see yourself in a year’s time?

In a year’s time, I would like to be progressing even further in my new career path and continue to develop my skills and making new relationships with candidates and clients.

Top 3 things to do outside of work?

I thoroughly enjoy keeping active whether it be going to the gym and lifting weights, going to a pilates class or walking my dog. On the other hand, I am also a big foodie and love to explore cooking new dishes and trying out new restaurants whether it be with my family or friends.

I would say the third thing I like to do outside work is travel, but since I have already briefly covered this, it would probably be just the simple things I appreciate the most, such as going on day trips, shopping, and particularly my love for reading.

Emma Barron

Subscribe to our newsletter

    Copy link
    Powered by Social Snap